Principles and foundations of EFQM organizational excellence model (Part 3)

Principles and foundations of EFQM organizational excellence model (Part 3)

Table of Contents


In Part1 and Part2 of our article, we have been describing EFQM organizational excellence model. In this Part, we finalized our discussion. The EFQM Model consists of an EFQM assessment that enables an organization to determine where they are in the quality process. The assessment starts with a review of the results. Every company needs to measure its performance. The EFQM model was created for the improvement of the organization based on the principles of quality management.


7- How to score in the excellence model

The total score in the Excellence Model is 1000, with empowerment criteria accounting for 50% of the total value of the equivalent of 500 points, of which the weight of the set of 5 criteria is: processes 14%, leadership 10%, participation and resources 9%, 9% staff, and 8% policy, and strategy

Outcome measures also have 50% of the total value equivalent to 500 points, the subset of which are: customer results 20%, employee results 9%, community results 6%, and key performance results in 15%

8- Self-assessment in EFQM model

Self-assessment is a systematic, systematic, and comprehensive review of an organization’s activities and outcomes based on a performance model such as EFQM. The self-assessment process allows the organization to clearly identify its strengths as well as areas for improvement.

8-1- General self-assessment process

Step 1: Create and commit to senior management in the organization to conduct self-assessment

Step 2: Create and implement an information strategy

Step 3: Plan the whole self-assessment process

Step 4: Select and train the process management team

Step 5: Perform self-assessment

Step 6: Prioritize self-assessment findings

Step 7: Form improvement teams and formulate and implement corrective actions

8-2- Self-assessment methods

1- Questionnaire method: It is done cheaply and quickly. Questions from the nine criteria components can be as simple as yes or no. The accuracy of evaluation in this method is low.

2- Matrix method: This method requires little training. This method, like the questionnaire method, evaluates based on the opinions of individuals.

3- Workshop method: The members of the self-assessment team gather information and present it to each other in a workshop and reach a consensus by reviewing and developing executive programs and scoring.

4- Proforma method: Due to the involvement of more people in different parts of the organization in collecting information, this method is more accurate than other methods.

5- Simulation method of awarding process: This method is based on the process recommended for receiving the European Quality Award. Scoring in this method is very accurate.

8-3- Radar logic (RADAR) in the self-assessment cycle

The use of RADAR elements is one of the methods of scoring and evaluation. The basis of this model is based on the main concepts of continuous improvement and the PDCA Deming cycle (PLAN program, DO implementation, CONTROL review, and ACTION operation), which is one of the important tools of quality control and continuous improvement.

excellence model
Excellence model: Radar logic in the self-assessment cycle

RADAR consists of four components:

  1. Results
  2. Approach method and approach
  3. Deployment
  4. Review & Assessment

9- Levels of excellence in winning awards

Levels of excellence differentiate organizations in achieving excellence and show the extent of their success in achieving excellence.

Level 1- Committed to excellence

Type: Conformance

Level 2- Recognized for excellence

Type: Conformance

Level 3- European quality award

Type: Competition


Website | + posts

He was born in 1981 in Tehran. He is a graduate of Industrial Engineering from Tehran Polytechnic University. His experience and knowledge in the field of project management and production management.

+ posts